DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Video Cacheing - Could it help me find my mavic?

TrayBoz

Reactions
I have a question for you experienced mavicians.

I recently decided to turn off Video Caching on my iPad Mini4 when flying to reduce the workload of the iPad when flying and to save storage space on it (yes I know you can purge cached files).

My question is: if (God forbid) something happens and I lose the mavic someday in flight, am I reducing my chances of finding the mavic without these cached video files?

I'm not experienced in viewing or uploading any flight logs or flight data. I'd like to think that if I did have a fly-away or crash that I could just look at the flight/route data on my iPad to be able to pinpoint the last known coordinates and go there to retrieve it. But am I losing this option by NOT cacheing the video to my device?

Thanks in advance for your expertise.

I dont believe so the cache is a video cache DJI app will still have ur flight record and route and also go 4 app has find my drone only good thing about cachevis u might if recording stays on recognise an area

But go 4 will still record ur flight route and last known position

Reactions: Rbruz
You're reducing your chances of proving to someone it wasn't your fault. That cached video is often helpful around here in diagnosing errors in flight and helping people understand where/how you were flying at the time of an incident. Can be very useful in making your case to DJI that you had a manufacturer issue rather than an operator one.

I don't think so.
The cached video could help find your drone? Yes. Is it necessary? No.
The point is; you can watch the cached video over and over again to remember the closest spot where you lose it.
I saw a video on YT where a guy flew his Mavic along a sea shore and when he decided to return, the struggle with the wind began.
Bottom line, the battery has gone and he tried to land near a green spot.