DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

What happened? This freaked me out...

evanston45

Reactions
So I'm a total newbie who was blessed to get a Mavic Pro...first drone I've flied about 6 times so far. Today we went out and took it up, but when it got close to 400 feet, I freaked out knowing I shouldn't go above that and the winds were kinda high. Doing what most newbie's would do, I pressed RTH. But that made it go even higher. I turned it off and manually tried to bring it back home, but it was kinda windy and I saw it drifting, so I tried RTH again, but if went up another 100 feet. My RTH height is set to 50 feet. Here's a copy of the log (thanks to another post on showing me how to download it). Can anyone tell me what may have happened and why it shot up over 100 feet? Firmware etc is all up to date. Thanks in advance! Someday I hope to become a pro and return the favor to a future newbie!

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2017-04-04 at 7.26.26 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2017-04-04 at 7.26.26 PM.png
    599.7 KB · Views: 100
So I'm a total newbie who was blessed to get a Mavic Pro...first drone I've flied about 6 times so far. Today we went out and took it up, but when it got close to 400 feet, I freaked out knowing I shouldn't go above that and the winds were kinda high. Doing what most newbie's would do, I pressed RTH. But that made it go even higher. I turned it off and manually tried to bring it back home, but it was kinda windy and I saw it drifting, so I tried RTH again, but if went up another 100 feet. My RTH height is set to 50 feet. Here's a copy of the log (thanks to another post on showing me how to download it). Can anyone tell me what may have happened and why it shot up over 100 feet? Firmware etc is all up to date. Thanks in advance! Someday I hope to become a pro and return the favor to a future newbie!