DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Yaw drift since firmware update?

taryn

Reactions
Hi guys, new to the forum so please be gentle. Since the last firmware update I've noticed that my Mavic has a slight yaw drift, regardless of momentum. Whether it's going straight ahead / flying backwards or hovering, it always seems to want to slightly rotate to the right. Manual photography in low light is currently non existent, it's that noticeable.

I have never crashed it, I'm an experienced pilot and only assume that it's since the last update, but any tips? Ive read that recalibration of the IMU might work, but also read that you shouldn't really fiddle with that too much. Has anyone else been having this problem, and if so how did you overcome it?

Reactions: Rauli Oinonen
When your Mavic is hovering in place, are you saying it'll just keep yawing slowly to the right -- eventually yawing in a complete 360 degree circle?

Reactions: Clear Water WI
When your Mavic is hovering in place, are you saying it'll just keep yawing slowly to the right -- eventually yawing in a complete 360 degree circle?

That's correct, exactly right. It's very slight, but over a distance it goes well off course. If hovering stationary, then yes it would do a complete 360.

Sent from my iPhone using MavicPilots

Try calibrating the remote controller -- like this:

Reactions: taryn
Try calibrating the remote controller -- like this:

Thanks for that, however I probably should have mentioned that this was actually the first thing I did, but alas it's made no difference.

The next step would be to calibrate the IMU.

Update:

Long story short: I have a Garmin Fenix watch, and the compass on it was always active. Every time I calibrated the compass, it was most likely interfering. After removing watch I did a recalibration and now not one problem!

Was the compass still calibrating without error while wearing the watch?

Reactions: Rauli Oinonen