DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

4K 30fps or 2.7K 60fps?

benz240

Reactions
I know the 4K vs 2.7k debate has gone on for a while now with the Pro and Phantoms, etc. but specifically for the Air, what is everyone using for video? I am really tempted to shoot in 2.7K just to have the 60fps so that I can get some buttery smooth 50% slowdown in post, but does it really result in a lot of quality sacrificed over 4K?

60 fps is better if the video is slowed down or there's a lot of movement going on from drone movement to things in the frame.

I am new to drones and just have a Mavic Pro but understand you want to get the highest quality video without sacrificing frame rate.

I'd shoot 4k in still environments where you will slow down the drone and don't create a lot of fast movements then 40 fps would look fine because not much is changing that fast.

But say you're flying around super fast or watching cars zip by at 80 miles an hour and might want to slow the footage down, do 60 fps. It will be a lot less choppy on the quickly changing frames, and can be slowed down much more.

Even though I don't have the air this should be a pretty universal argument related to quality/fps!

Reactions: Simmo
It comes down to editing. And then, what you do with your product. Please note that most computer screens are “only” 1080p (like the tv at home) and even YouTube reduces your image to 720p.
So, higher framerate is easier to edit and most play devices can’t handle high bitrates anyway.

4K is a ***** to edit and not really necessary for most people - it's not better quality - it's just a bigger image! 2.7K still allows for a decent crop, and 60fps is a real sweetener for smooth pans and some slo-mo to 50%... love it!