DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

4k 60 fps downsides?

SabrToothSqrl

Reactions
I'm not sure if I've been filming at 30 or 60 fps. I know it's 4k, but I'd have to walk upstairs to look at my files.And the couch is comfy.

Anyway, they look great, I play them on a 4k TV hooked to my gaming PC that's running the screen at 120hz (so 120 fps?). (it's the only 4k tv I have where I can feed it a 4k signal). All of my other TVs are run from computers that can only push 1080p. (I do IT work for a living, so yeah, I got the computer part covered).

Anyway; other the file size, which I assume is bigger at 60fps vs. 30fps... is there any downside to the higher frame rate?

If I just film everything at the best the camera can do... why not?
For what it's worth, I'm planning to use it this summer to get video of us on a boat.
I think 30fps would be just fine, but hey, more = better?

Would filming something at 60fps ever make it worse than had I filmed it at 30fps?

Thanks!

Reactions: Dronage
Don't make the common mistake of assuming that a bigger number is automatically better.
Instead learn a little about frame rates or try shooting a few samples and comparing them.

Hello SabrToothSqrl:

If you plan on viewing most of your video without doing much editing, then you might want to record at the rate you like to view. The guide referenced by Meta4 could help you decide what rate you prefer for viewing.