DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

5 days later, my Mavic Air just died (RIP)

John23

Reactions
Hello world, I'm new here and I'm new with drones as well

This morning (2 hours ago) I've played a bit with my first drone : the Mavic Air (bought 5 days ago in the Paris DJI store but we don't really care about that information right)

I was so pleased being able to flyyyy around my city today cause we had no rain for the first time
I'm living not so far from a small river and the idea was to fly over it in order to grab some nice video, brushing past the water.

The idea was : flying through a small bridge

So, yes this morning I took my young Mavic Air, took off gently using the remote control linked to a smartphone, started to fly over the river, no issue, then starting to fly through the bridge.

I've started feeling a bit of wind probably as the drone was shaking a little bit, but not too much, and kept going through the bridge (probably 8 meters (27 foot) large ?)

BUT THEN the drone refused any more move
My remote control was like useless

So the drone was under the bridge
at almosth the middle of it
I saw a yellow light on the drone (or was it red ?)
no way about making flying it back to me !
the drone started to move to the pole and hit it once, twice and I think I saw a small spark
At the third time it just crashed into the pole and felt into the water.

End of the game.

This is the video I got from the smartphone / DJI Go 4 application cache
as you can see the communication looks broken at the middle of the bridge : https://humanize.me/drop/VideoClip-q35.mp4

I'm quite sad cause I've lost a great toy/tool/drone/friend/lol but I wish I can understand what the issue was

Was it because of the water + wireless reception ?
Was it something else ?

Cheers everyone,

Sorry to hear its lost but trying to fly under that bridge whilst being new to drones was a bit silly.