DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

5 min. Submersion for my MA2 - A day in the rice and it's all good

macfawlty

Reactions
I’ve been flying for about 4 years. I fly ‘relatively‘ safe, but may have a higher risk tolerance than others when it comes to trees and water. Everywhere I fly is trees and water, and flying high all the time is boring. My M2P is out for repairs from some tree pruning and crashing in the woods last weekend in Western Maryland, so I got an MA2 earlier this week to have something to fly in the meantime. I exclusively use a tablet so I can see my telemetry clearly, but forgot to order a longer USB-C to Lightning cable in time for the trip and had to use my Galaxy s9+. It was very difficult to view the tiny text, map and telemetry data and challenging to make settings changes while flying. I really rely on my telemetry.
I was descending slowly over water, got too low and dipped in the river (yes I realize the downward sensors don't work over water). I immediately ascended and it hovered for a few seconds before doing a couple flips and dropping to the bottom of the river. The river was a big pool in this section, flatwater, clear. I could see the MA2. The lights were on so I walked out, fully clothed, to chest deep, dove down and got it. It was still running so I turned it off, dried it out and attempted startup to check status. It was submerged for at least a few minutes. Everything seemed to be ok except 2 of the rotors weren’t working at all and I got an ERC error.
If an MA2 is submerged or gets wet from rain, what are the most likely things to short out? How ‘waterproof’ is the MA2?
I was ready to buy the Phantom Rain wetsuit for and the water landing pad for the MA2, but it wouldn’t have arrived in time for this trip as I just bought it earlier this week.
I’ll either return, repair or file an insurance claim. Not a big deal.