DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

A Real Beginner's Error.

PeteTheJack

Reactions
I say "beginner", but I have been flying drones for over five years.

I was flying my Mavic Air 2 today for the first time in a month. Batteries were a bit low but there was next to no wind and I was doing a video for a pal who has an industrial unit with a large parking area. I was not going to be flying at any sort of distance. After about ten minutes I was about to land but the craft flew up to about sixty feet and refused to respond. Eventually I manage to regain control and brought it in to land.

When I got back home I checked things out and the battery was very low. Suddenly it dawned on me, "check the audio level on the phone". It was muted and I did not get any of the voice prompts telling me that it was doing a "low battery, return to home".

Lesson learned. I think a flightcheck list is something I'm going to resort to!

With more inclement weather and darker evenings approaching, I think the opportunity to fly will be a bit sparse over the next few months. I know, thanks to this forum, that the batteries do a controlled self discharge after a few weeks. Is it OK to leave them for a prolonged period in the self induced storage mode and charge them a few hours ahead of any planned flying?

Pete

I was flying my Mavic Air 2 today for the first time in a month. Batteries were a bit low but there was next to no wind and I was doing a video for a pal who has an industrial unit with a large parking area. I was not going to be flying at any sort of distance. After about ten minutes I was about to land but the craft flew up to about sixty feet and refused to respond. Eventually I manage to regain control and brought it in to land.