DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Active track glitches, quick shot issues, and odd POI behavior

cbaquol

Reactions
Hey guys

I am using a Mavic 2 Pro with the smart controller(not so smart is it? I've got a whole separate set of issues with that) all firmware is current and I am using the latest DJI go 4. I have had this aircraft for maybe three months now and ever since I first got it I have always felt a little disconnected from it and don't feel as confident flying it as I do with other Mavic 2s or RC aircraft in general (I have been flying RC helis for about 10 years). I have recalibrated compass, IMU, vision sensors, and also reflashed firmware multiple times with no luck. There is nothing obstructing the gimbal and all the sensors are clean.

Here are some of my symptoms that occur in active track, point of interest, and quick shot. All of which use sensors which makes me lean toward this being a hardware issue.

Frequent subject lost errors, even when the subject isn't even moving followed by erratic behavior by the gimbal I suspect because it is searching for the subject

Yesterday was a new one, at first the aircraft started to yaw rapidly on its own while staying stationary in point of interest mode rather than circling the subject, then decided to increase the radius and appeared normal

In active track mode, in any of the three modes, control inputs on the sticks are completely wrong. Somebody told me this might be by design in a intelligent flight control setting but I get to find anything about that. Giving the aircraft right role moves it either forward or backwards and giving the aircraft back elevator moves it on the roll axis one way or another. And it is not consistent or relative to the subject.

Quick shot Helix do not accurately circle the subject, rather seems like it bounces off or is being stretched with a rubber band.