DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Almost a flyaway

rscheff

Reactions
I fly the Mini with Samsung S21 phone. I use DroneLink to create missions. I have approximately 4,500 minutes of flying time so I am not a total Newbie. On 10/12/22 and 10/14/22 I encountered two issues which I have never had exactly like these. On the 12th I was flying a routine mapping mission and I ran out of juice (20%), happens all the time, this day was a little windy so it caused more power to be used. Normally RTH is initiated and the drone comes back and lands within 10 feet of launch. This time RTH was initiated and it started back to home but just kept going until it was approximately 200 feet away. It was at 400 feet altitude and I lost physical sight of it but when I looked at the controller I could see it was way beyond home. I immediately shut off RTH and started using the sticks to manually return and it was fighting me the whole time as if it wanted to go elsewhere, but I don't know where. I finally landed it with about 8 % power left.