DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Also have grainy footage

az19

Reactions
On the first of January I bought a Mavic Mini 2. I was extremely pleased with the video quality but decided to return it as I thought the photo quality was pretty bad. I replaced it with the Air 2 which has better picture quality.

I have to say that so far I'm puzzled that the Air 2 is producing video that is inferior to that of my Mini 2. Across all frame rates and even at base iso of 100 the grain I'm getting is horrendous. Doesn't seam to make a difference if I'm in auto or manual or HDR. Thought I'd share a clip of what I'm talking about. You will see the most grain in the lower third of the clip in the water. Also what has happened to the wake of that boat it looks all jagged? Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks

What kind of Micro SD card are you using? Brand, model, size? Did you format them in the drone before using them? I’m totally new to drones but very experienced in computers and RC in general and I’ve researched a lot when deciding on a MA2 and not formatting in the drone and low quality Micro SD cards seem to be the culprits a lot of the time.

Good point. The sd card was the one I bought at the same time I purchased the mini 2. I bought that based on the combat ability with the mini 2 not even imagining I would be getting a air 2 a few weeks later. It has not been reformatted for the Air2. It is a Samsung 128 Evo Plus.

That SD should be ok. Make sure your video settings are the same for both drones. I.e. MOV or MP4, H.264 vs H.265, Normal or cinelike. etc. The Air 2 has a bigger sensor and does produce a better image. Once you confirm they are identical settings same SD card specs and you can shoot with same lighting etc. then maybe contact DJI.

Not all Samsung Evo Plus are U3 rated. I have no idea why Samsung uses the same model name for different rated cards.