DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Altitude information on the DJI Fly application?

TeroFin

Reactions
Hi!

I am new to drones and just bought my very first drone (Mini). I have flown it now about for two hours and it surprisingly is still intact ?

I have lots of things to learn for sure before I will feel confident with this little creature, but now the biggest issue seems to be that I am not confident with the altitude information I can see on the bottom of the screen (DJI Fly). I first thought it showed the distance from the drone to the groud, but it is now obvious this is not the case. If I am standing up on some hill/slope and send to drone to air it shows about 2 meters ( 6 feet) altitude and this is OK, but if I then fly the drone down the hill, but still keeping the flying level, I would expect the height information to increase, but it seems to go negative. It is like the launching altitude would be some kind of "zero altitude" and if I fly below that, it shows negative numbers. I have done all the calibrations there are available on the SW and the FW of the drone is also the latest one. Should the altitude measurement really work like this? ?

I have read that there are two methods in this drone to define the flying altitude, the barometer and the Visual Positioning System (VPS), but so far I haven't understood which one of these shows the altitude information (or is it some kind of a combo?) and why it is not showing the distance that really would be helpful for the pilot, i.e. ground <--> drone.

Any assistance here would be very appreciated, thanks!

Reactions: mano
That is the height 'above' the take of point but as you have found out it goes negative if you drop below the take off point. As you saw negative height you must have descended as you flew away.