DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Analyzing data / flight files

Turn11

Reactions
The data are extracted from either the onboard .DAT files or the device .txt logs using DatCon (for DAT files) or the PhantomHelp / AirData websites for basic fields from the .txt logs. For more detailed output from the .txt logs I use TXTlogToCSVtool.

Then you need a data analysis package to analyze and visualize the data; I use Wavemetrics Igor Pro, but you could equally well use MatLab or similar.

Alternatively, you can skip all that and use @BudWalker's CsvView for DAT files and .txt logs, which uses a different approach to data visualization by creating "players" but works very well.

I copied the above post from a thread about a lost drone and reading “data files” and interpreting what was the cause. Ocean Crash – Resolved #47

I am a newbie to drones and RC flying. I have roughly 2.5 hours flight time. I have done a LOT of reading and a lot of reference is made to the data files and seeing what went on during the flight. In my spare time I would like to learn the basics and what tools to use. I hope that is a reasonable goal. I parsed the above thread and used google to search for information.

Directions on finding flight logs for Apple & Android can be found in this thread

Could I get some direction on which files to analyze and which tools to use. Pros & Cons of the tools.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
data are extracted from either the on board .DAT files or the device .txt logs using DatCon (for DAT files)
or the PhantomHelp / AirData websites for basic fields from the .txt logs
For more detailed output from the .txt logs I use TXTlogToCSVtool
data analysis package to analyze and visualize the data; I use Wavemetrics Igor Pro
you could equally well use MatLab or similar
Alternatively, you can skip all that and use @BudWalker CsvView for DAT files and .txt logs