DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Are polarizer filters worth it?

Heindrich1988

Reactions
I've been dithering over filters and lens for my Air 2 for days. As a total noob, there was quite a lot of information to absorb. I think ultimately, my decision comes down to whether polarizers are important or not. I've seen quite a lot of conflicting information. Some people swear by it, and say that if you're gonna use ND filters, you might as well use some that can work as PL filters too. Some say that it's too impractical to use on a drone, and you can achieve some of the effect in post-production anyway. What do you guys feel about the subject?

I have come up with two strategies depending on the answer:

A) Polarizers are important

PGY set: NDPL 8/16/32/64 (399 RMB = $59) * I am currently in China, so PGYTech is a bit cheaper than Freewell, I also much prefer the PGYTech magnetized filter case compared to the Freewell one.

Freewell Anamorphic lens ($40) * I will have to wait until it is officially released in China. I don't want to pay $20 for postage on a $40 item.

Total: $99

B) Polarizers are not important

Buying everything from Freewell so I get free delivery...

Variable ND 2 Pack: 2-5 stops & 6-9 stop filters. ($50) *If polarizers aren't important, I'd prefer VND over normal ones, just for the convenience. That 2-5 stop filter will be on my drone by default.

Anamorphic lens ($40)

Freewell ND8PL filter ($20) *Have to buy something else to reach the $100 free delivery requirement. Might as well get ONE filter at the most commonly used ND setting to have the option of using a polarizer.

Total: $110

Any thoughts and input much appreciated!

Polarisers are vastly over-rated for drone use and to use them properly is more trouble than they are worth.

To use them properly, you need to rotate the filter element to align relative to the angle of the sun.