DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Audits

LawrenceF

Reactions
Hi Guys: I'm new to drones and am soaking up all of the information I can find to be sure that I fly safely and legally. So far I'm having lots of fun with my DJI Mini SE.

One thing that disturbed me when going over various YouTube videos are these "auditors", people who - it seems clear to me - intentionally fly drones in places where they know it will provoke confrontation. Even though their activities are technically legal, I find it troubling. That is to say, people are literally making money on YouTube by intentionally annoying other people and the fact that the annoyed may be ignorant of current drone laws is 100% irrelevant to me. I find the entire thing distasteful and disingenuous.

Honestly, If I were flying my drone over a local company's property and they asked me to stop, I would just stop. It's just common kindness and respect and the fact that they may be ignorant of the airspace laws - or that I'm legally entitled to do it - is irrelevant to me. The same goes for my neighbor, if he asks me to not fly over his property I wouldn't, or at a bare minimum if I had to cross his property I would fly high enough where it wouldn't matter and nobody would ever see it anyway.

As I explore my new hobby it seems pretty clear to me that there are some random idiots out there making it more difficult for the majority. No wonder so many people hate drones.

Anyway, I plan on taking that approach. Getting along with people, respecting their wishes, and having lots of fun.

I had to get that off of my chest.

Last edited:
Greetings from Birmingham Alabama USA, welcome to the forum! We look forward to hearing from you!

1st Amendment Auditors are what many of them call themselves. But in reality, they are antagonizers.