DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

B4U Fly App and wilderness areas

clandherr

Reactions
I am new to having a drone. I do a lot of camping and I am looking to get some cool photos and videos as a hobby. I am confused about the maps on Aloft and B4U Fly in the mountains in CO. The section of MAP attached shows wilderness area around some white area. When I click on the white area, which is where I will be, I get a clear for takeoff. However, listed below it says FS Wilderness Area. I am confused, am I good to fly or not? The wilderness area warning has a mileage distance and I believe it might just be giving me a warning that wilderness area is within 2.07?? Aloft shows it as very similar. I get a green symbol with an exclamation point with the same wilderness area notification.

Can anyone help me understand what this means?
1567ABF1-0092-4C8A-90D0-F999C6C4F4B1.jpeg

Is that federal land? National Park land?

What is USFS wilderness area?

The National Wilderness Preservation System is a network of over 111.7 million acres – more area than the state of California - of public land comprised of more than 803 wilderness areas administered for the American people by the federal government. These are special places where nature still calls the shots.

That last sentence says it all.

Last edited:
Is that federal land? National Park land?

What is USFS wilderness area?

The National Wilderness Preservation System is a network of over 111.7 million acres – more area than the state of California - of public land comprised of more than 803 wilderness areas administered for the American people by the federal government. These are special places where nature still calls the shots.
so it‘s in the Pike-San Isabel national forest, but this particular area is not marked as wilderness area.

Reactions: Bob in Savannah