DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Basic Photography ....Please

saltcodnewfie

Reactions
Hi,
I'm new to the Mavic drone. The whole flying aspect is fine. What I'm terrible at is photography ;-)
There is lots of info in the forums on alllllll kinds of settings.
Can someone please explain in simple terms what ISO, SHUTTER SPEED, and FPS mean to a camera and what affect the settings for each will have on the recorded video /pictures.
thanks in advance, this is a great forum.

ISO measures the sensitivity of the image sensor.
The same principles apply as in film photography – the lower the number the less sensitive your camera is to light and the finer the grain.
Higher numbers mean your sensor becomes more sensitive to light which allows you to use your camera in darker situations. The cost of doing so is more grain (although cameras are improving all the time and today many are able to use high ISO settings and still get very useable images).

In photography and digital photography the shutter speed is the unit of measurement which determines how long shutter remains open as the picture is taken. The slower the shutter speed, the longer the exposure time. The shutter speed and aperture together control the total amount of light reaching the sensor.
Since the Mavic does not have an aperture adjustment slip on ND Filters must be used to diminish the amount of light that is let into the cameras sensor.

Definition - What does Frames Per Second (FPS) mean?
Frames per second (FPS) is a unit that measures display device performance. It consists of the number of complete scans of the display screen
that occur each second. This is the number of times the image
on the screen is refreshed each second, or the rate at which an imaging device produces unique sequential images called frames.

ISO measures the sensitivity of the image sensor.