DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Beach city manned aircraft flying below 500ft over beach. Do I have any recourse?

Reactions
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to drones. I live in a beach city, and have been doing my damnedest to adhere to the FAA rules and regulations. One problem I've been having where I live is that both helicopters and small two person fixed wing aircraft like to fly low (I'd estimate in the 300 ft AGL range). I've had a couple of instances recently where I've had to quickly descend because of this, and I'm extremely nervous to cause I know I'm the lowest on the totem pole. I'd understand if this was just over open water, but it's also occurred over land. I'm wondering if, like I suspect, they're in the wrong, and if they are, do I have any recourse in reporting them to the FAA? Not trying to be a jerk at all, but it does no good unless both of us are sticking to the safety rules. Appreciate any advice.

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to drones. I live in a beach city, and have been doing my damnedest to adhere to the FAA rules and regulations. One problem I've been having where I live is that both helicopters and small two person fixed wing aircraft like to fly low (I'd estimate in the 300 ft AGL range). I've had a couple of instances recently where I've had to quickly descend because of this, and I'm extremely nervous to cause I know I'm the lowest on the totem pole. I'd understand if this was just over open water, but it's also occurred over land. I'm wondering if, like I suspect, they're in the wrong, and if they are, do I have any recourse in reporting them to the FAA? Not trying to be a jerk at all, but it does no good unless both of us are sticking to the safety rules. Appreciate any advice.