DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Best, affordable ND filters?

Loylzeus

Reactions
Hey fellow pilots,

PGYTECH, Original DJI, POLARPRO SUNNYLIFE, Y&C and many more...

anyone has the best advice on which brand ND filter is the best and most affordable?

i’ve heard good stuff about the polar pro, but i’m considering PGYTECH or Sunnylife cause it’s a 6 pc set and at my area..

and what is your take on ND filters? is it a need? with the in app filters?

appreciate the inputs!

So, I just took a chance on a set of 6 ND ND/PL filters by Neewer. Super cheap, and decent reviews. I will test them and report back. Im no expert, and have nothing to compare them to but, im sure they are better than nothing.

I have been using the Polar Pro sets for nearly a year now. Started with the original PP sets then got the later Cine Series. Pretty much leave the ND8 on the Mavic all the time as it seems to be a great fit for the conditions I film in.
If I'm going to be shooting over water at a certain angle I will fit the CP for a much clearer image of the water.
In my opinion, they are a must have. If used appropriately they will enhance your shots, something post editing cannot do all of the time, particularly in regards to polarization.

Reactions: Loylzeus
As a photographer my take would be as long as they are glass they should be good.
I did a quick test on my Polar Pro's that I just got and they seemed to be OK. A little loose with the labeling in that D filters are usually called by WHAT they do; ND4 drops 4 stops, ND8 drops 8 stops etc.
My 'quick' test revealed the PP register thus; ND4 drops 3, ND8 drops 5 and ND16 drops 6.
But, they do work just fine regardless of the labels. What I do enjoy about them is that both polarizer and ND are all on the same lens.

Test = Sekonic Digi-Spot L-488 on 1* spot setting metering sun reflection off concrete drive @ iso1000