DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Best video editor for Windows (that's not DaVinci Resolve)

koco2202

Reactions
I am very new in editing videos, and I started with the DaVinci Resolve, but its way to complicated for my brain so far.

Any other recommendation out there that can be for "entry level"? I heard a lot about Shotcut, any thoughts?

I have i7 11 Gen Dell Inspiron 5502

Thank you

I am very new in editing videos, and I started with the DaVinci Resolve, but its way to complicated for my brain so far.

Any other recommendation out there that can be for "entry level"? I heard a lot about Shotcut, any thoughts?

Thank you
Maybe "Filmora" ?

What makes DR too complicated for your brain? If you find the right beginner's tutorial, you'll be up and running in an hour. In terms of the basics, what is complicated is that you have to figure out what the icons represent and get to know BMD's terminology. Basic editing in DR is a matter of 1) Open file and set resolution preferences and frame rate. 2) Import media into media pool. 3) Go to Edit page [Shift 4] and drag desired clips into timeline on Edit page. 4) Trim as desired with the razor place deleting razored out sections or Shift-left or Shift-right bracket for trim from front or back. 5) [step 4 and 5 can be reversed]. Drag clips to reorder. 6) Go to Deliver page to set parameters for rendering. 7) Click "Render item(s)".

Now, if you want to do some color adjustments you go to the Color tab [Shift 6] where you may have to spend a moment or two to figure out what's what... though there are basic color tutorials. Usually not much to do in Fairlight (music tab).

I tell you, I've messed around with many "simpler" editing programs and found DR to be the most intuitive. And trust me, I am the most "new software" avoidant person on the forum. I don't even like doing upgrades for programs I already know.