DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Best video settings and what filters?

Randall8686

Reactions
Hi All

I know there is no “rule” to what setting to use as it depends on the scene. However I am a little confused about why I would choose a lower frame rate when shooting in 4K? Surely 30fps is what I want? Does anyone know of a good YouTube video on how to get the best from the MP2? I am new to all this tbh as previous drones just had go pro’s On and I got the footage I was given. I am getting very choppy footage at the moment when moving at speed. 4K 30fps. Especially when rotating the drone.

I have worked out ND filters will help with this from videos. What filters should I buy? I plan on going to Hawaii in a couple of months so grabbed the drone now to practice with. I will want to obviously film in some fairly bright light. Hoping to have a crash course in learning this drones camera.

Are the DJI filters the best ones?

I have looked at some YouTube videos but one person says one thing another says another so any reputable videos/advice would be welcome on this.

Thanks all

I’m reasonably inexperienced but here is what I’ve gleaned so far:
- slower frame are used to create a different look, and give a more ‘cinematic’ feel to the video. If you shoot at 30 or 60 FPS, it will look more ‘real’ . It’s to do with how much information our eyes and brains can handle as individual images before our brains just blur them together and ‘skip’ frames

- ND filters are used for a related purpose, they allow you to shoot at slower shutter speeds to create motion blur, this is essential in creating a cinematic feel.

So, if you are shooting fast sports scenes, shoot in 60fps.
Normal flying I would shoot in 30fps
If you want a cinematic look, stick an ND filter on so you are exposed correctly with shutter speed of double your frame rate - so if 24fps, then shoot at 1/50 shutter.

Hope this makes sense!

Hi All