DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Bird encounters ... close calls

Was out flying yesterday and was getting chased by an Osprey. Had to put my Air in sport mode to escape

Birds are of course a concern for us all. Let’s see your vids and pics of your bird encounters. I’ll start.
In my clip there are 4 passes by an eagle, each one progressively closer... had to abandon my project and get out of the air.
Scary. It's a good thing you weren't looking down when it passed by, could've been disastrous.

Reactions: Thomas B
Scary. It's a good thing you weren't looking down when it passed by, could've been disastrous.
Of course I am not a bird expert but if it's the same eagle or osprey could be that there was a nest nearby with little chickies. Best to abandon ASAP in my opinion and drive down the road to the next place.

I think I was hit by smaler bird at 35 ft height... I think it was a bird, the gymbal took a swing to one side. I am getting concerned.

Ha! I was outside yesterday flying my new Mini when I noticed a bunch of black birds/ crows start to land in some trees and a chimney. I was just getting familiar with my controls, keeping below 10 meters.

I decided to just land and not risk a tragic “bird carry-away.” o_O

it seems when flying low... but my ting is that you can't flight high with the mani all the time.

Was hovering at 60’ above a partially frozen lake I was imaging here in NW PA this afternoon. An eagle swooped down from about 200’ and was either curious, or aborted it’s attack from about 50’ from the Mavic 2. Happened so quick that I’m not sure what options I would have had.

Ha! I was outside yesterday flying my new Mini when I noticed a bunch of black birds/ crows start to land in some trees and a chimney. I was just getting familiar with my controls, keeping below 10 meters.

I decided to just land and not risk a tragic “bird carry-away.” o_O