DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Birds and drones

seilerbird

Reactions
Hi - I am new here with my first question. I have a Tactic Air Drone on order and it should arrive sometime next month. I am a retired bird photographer and I am wondering if there are any rules about photographing birds with a drone. I did not buy it to photograph birds, I have other uses, such as inspecting the roof on my RV since I am too decrepit to get up on my roof now. I am guessing that most birds will flee at the site of a drone.

Last edited:
Reactions: NG Wildman
there are rules governing low flying over birds during their breeding season,and also posting pictures or birds of prey ,thus resulting in people being able to identify their nest locations during the breading season ,also you need to be aware that birds are very territorial and will often attack other flying objects if they feel their young are in danger ,this includes drones they have no real fear of them obviously i am speaking about the UK rules ,and other countries ,may have different rules ,

Reactions: Galeforce1
Also a Tactic Air Drone is not going to give you good results. No GPS - it will drift in the wind. No image stablisation - it will be jerky. Poor camera. Poor controller. Few settings to control. Poor battery life and flight time. Poor camera control. Low range. Bear all of this in mind...

Reactions: old man mavic
Hi - I am new here with my first question. I have a Tactic Air Drone on order and it should arrive sometime next month. I am a retired bird photographer and I am wondering if there are any rules about photographing birds with a drone. I did not buy it to photograph birds, I have other uses, such as inspecting the roof on my RV since I am too decrepit to get up on my roof now. I am guessing that most birds will flee at the site of a drone.

Some very nice photos for sure!