DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Birds of prey and drones.

Aussie Oldtimer

Reactions
I’m from Aust and at any one there are up to 20 raptors within a 1km radius.

My maiden flight today with the M2P in Qld Aust and set up in a nice bare field with no obstructions. When I got about 10m agl, a nesting plover came straight for it and turned at the last minute.

I had to drop to about 1m agl and rth. Plovers nest directly on the ground that I couldn’t see

I just moved about 100m away. The bird kept squarking but stayed at its nest. Scary for a first flight

I'm a wildlife photographer and I've seen raptors attack and grab other smaller birds of prey on many occasions

I know that I have to be careful with raptors but how often do non agro birds chase drones?

I'm looking for some ideas to help when I spot a raptor

I was recently attacked by a bird...I never actually saw it, but my gimbal went crazy and then I saw something cross my vision. I flew straight up (as suggested above) and brought my MPP right back as quickly as possible and examined it for damage. I found a feather piece in the gimbal assembly, but no damage. I felt VERY lucky.

I had been told to fly straight up in that situation - my understanding is that it's not to get away as much as that birds know you're not a bird when you go straight up and often lose interest in you.

I've had several raptors (Coopers Hawk, Red Tailed Hawk, Sharp Shinned Hawk, even Turkey Vultures) come over for a look while I'm playing around. My advice to avoid a collision is just try to get a picture of them while they're flying around. Unless you're seriously invading their nesting area, I doubt they'll mess with your drone. BTW the birds that seem most interested in my Mavic are hummingbirds. Maybe the noise?