DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Brand new Mavic Mini gimbal goes wild

Reactions
Hi fellow mavic pilots!

My Mavic Mini got delivered today and I was stoked to fly it!
I got it into the air and well...the problems already started.

I saw that there was condensation in the lens of the camera, and as a photographer I know that water and technology aren't always good friends.
I landed my Mavic mini, brought it inside and waited 10 mins before going out again,
when I placed the Mavic on the ground and powered it up, the gimbal just went wild (check video attachment).

When I tried to calibrate the gimbal it wouldn't let me.
I had to calibrate the IMU first and then I would be able to calibrate the gimbal.

The problem is, this happens over and over again.
After calibration it only takes 10 seconds of flight time before the gimbal starts to freak out again for a full 5 seconds.

I contacted the DJI helpcenter but they couldn't help me,
that's why I want to ask if some of you guys had the same issue and or a solution before sending the 1 day old drone back to the factory.

cheers

(I can't post videos so took a few screenshots, the gimbal basically freaked out and went left-right-down-left-up... everywhere ! it ended like the last photo and it stayed in that position until the new IMU calibration)
(did not do the V01.00.0500 update yet because it has nothing to do with the gimbal)

Attachments

• Screenshot 2020-05-13 at 17.52.37.png
    Screenshot 2020-05-13 at 17.52.37.png
    71.4 KB · Views: 31
  • Screenshot 2020-05-13 at 17.52.50.png
    Screenshot 2020-05-13 at 17.52.50.png
    63.8 KB · Views: 29
  • Screenshot 2020-05-13 at 17.54.51.png
    Screenshot 2020-05-13 at 17.54.51.png
    66.1 KB · Views: 28
  • Screenshot 2020-05-13 at 17.55.08.png
    Screenshot 2020-05-13 at 17.55.08.png
    71.7 KB · Views: 25
Last edited:
Hi fellow mavic pilots!

My Mavic Mini got delivered today and I was stoked to fly it!