DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Business pictures in No Fly Zone

Skeeter1850

Reactions
I’m a newbie, bought a Mavic Pro to do some video photography or get some pictures for advertising of my business. I’m a mile and a half from the airport, my controller comes up no fly zone and I can’t take off. I know of others that are getting it done , 1 in particular that is doing a project right at the airport filming progress construction of the new hanger. I was hoping someone could shed a little light on how it can be done. I only need to go up maybe 50 to 75’. I would never do anything illegal or that would endanger people!!!! I tried contacting the other person to hire him but he is not returning calls and from one person that did speak with him and he has stopped taking on work as he has more than he can handle. I welcome any advice.

OK lets start with the basics
If you have not registered your drone as a commercial drone, AND taken and passed the FAA Part 107 Airmans test, you can not LEGALLY use your Drone tor commercial purposes, and what you described is commercial use and prohibited as a hobbyist

Now if you were Licensed Part 107, and you were in controlled airspace, you could apply for a waiver to fly where a hobbyist is not allowed to fly, and that would allow you to fly NEAR an airport if granted. If you were Part 107 and in uncontrolled airspace you could legally fly 1.5 miles from an airport

Without knowing the airport, or the class of airspace, I can't help you.

But again, if you are not licensed commercially, and you fly where you are not supposed to, and something goes wrong or someone drops a dime, it is not going to go well for you