DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Buying a used Mavic Pro - have some last minute questions!

billem16

Reactions
I decided to buy a Mavic Pro drone - I'm brand new to drones. I was going to buy new from DJI or Best Buy, but I just found out a co-worker/friend has one and told me he would sell it for a good price. I am curious what questions I should be asking before buying a used drone? I originally didn't want a used one because I'm new to drones and don't know the questions to be asking and just felt more comfortable buying new... but since I know this guy, I feel confident he wouldn't hide anything from me. Nonetheless, I should still be asking SOME questions... such as - have you ever had any crashes? did you buy it brand new? etc... What are other questions I should ask?? I'm guessing I should get a ton of information incase I choose to sell it myself one day and need more info. He also told me he would give me some lessons since he is rather experienced, so that's a nice perk of buying a used drone from someone I know too.

Also, I'm not sure what the "good price" might be... new on DJI's site is $899, so maybe a used drone from a buddy would be $750-$800? We'll see...

If I was only getting a $100 discount then I'd go ahead & buy a new one. Does he have refresh (extended warranty)? If you think you need a warranty since your new to flying then a new one may be the way to go.

That’s a good point. Yeah maybe a used drone that he doesn’t even need to ship should be $650-$700. And yes I’ll ask about warranty that’s a good point. Thanks

You can get an official refurb with full warranty for $660 on eBay from "djiofficialstore" which is Drone Nerds, an authorized dealer.

Personally, I would not buy a complex piece of equipment such as this second hand with no warranty.