DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Buying advice greatly appreciated

Stevieve

Reactions
Hi everyone,

I am currently considering buying a Mavic Pro. I had a lesson on Sunday with a P4 Pro and have well and truly been bitten by the bug.

Due to budget, etc. I currently have the choice between a Mavic and a P4. My main reason for purchase would be photography and video. I am a keen amateur photographer and would see the drone more or less as another camera, albeit one that can fly.

The Mavic has several advantages to me - portability (more likely to use it more), less noise (I will be doing some horse videoing), and performance/cost.

The controller is the main sticking point. Firstly, I would like to use an Ipad Pro 9.7" with it for an increase in screen brightness. I understand that I can do this using a third party Mavmount. Any advice on these would be appreciated.

Secondly, some reviews have said that the controller isn't good for those with big hands. Being 6'4", I have big hands. Has anyone here had any issues similar to this.

Any other advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance and have a good day,

Steve

Well, if budget and portability are main issues, then you have pretty much sold yourself on the Mavic as opposed to the P4 - Although, the camera is supposed to be better on the P4

I am an amateur photographer too, but went with the Mavic purely on the portability factor. Have also seen some great photos/videos from the Mavic, so the difference in quality for me was negligible compared to the P4, being only an amateur.

I purchased an iPad 4 mini yesterday (yet to fly with it due to weather), but did fit it to the controller (no mount required) and have a sun hood coming for it.

My main problem was the screen size when I was previously using my iPhone 7 plus and the sun.

Everyone gets sun glare, only the crystal sky would be able to compete with that, hence getting a sun hood.