DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Buying my first drone - Which one to get?

cowsgonemadd3

Reactions
I am in the market for my first real drone. I was given a cheap sky viper toy drone 2 years ago and really fell in love with air toys. As a kid I always wanted a remote controlled helicopter but I read they were hard to control so I never bought one.

I have been saving for the last 6 months for a drone. I am looking at a few options.

I really think I should get one that shoots 4k. I liked the small size of the spark but its limited air time and 1080p video does not cut it. It is outdated out of the box. I have a 4k tv so why not make 4k content?

My budget is not enough for a new Mavic 2. Simply too expensive for a toy.

So this leaves me with the Mavic Air and a Used Mavic Pro/Platinum. I have around 700 to spend. Even that stings a bit, not because I dont have it but I do not usually spend so much on toys.

I like the mavic pro but feel it might be a bit dated compared to the pro 2. The mavic air is newer with more features but stays in the air less time. I read the gimbal on the pro has issues and the air has it updated and is better. The 4k video on the air and the pro are similar and look good enough for me to start out with.

If you were buying used what would you look for? I am looking on ebay at either a lightly used mavic air or a pro with extra batteries and such. I have seen many with low flight time and no crashes for good deals. I would rather someone else take the hit on buying the extra batteries and carry cases. It seems they hold their value pretty well though.

Thanks for any input!

I am in the market for my first real drone. I was given a cheap sky viper toy drone 2 years ago and really fell in love with air toys. As a kid I always wanted a remote controlled helicopter but I read they were hard to control so I never bought one.