DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

CABS - Cheap....Base Station UPDATE

lightbg

Reactions
Having recently gotten an F T Aviator stick I realized that it has to be connected to the DJI transmitter to work. Between trying to find enough lanyards for all this stuff I also fly with an iPad mini, which just loads things up more. My neck is screaming "Enough", so I needed an alternative.

Being a lifetime musician I've collected a ton of equipment. A little imagination brought about the "CABS".

A simple folding base mic stand with a stereo mic adapter acts as the base for the stick and the iPad holder. I need another mic tray for the DJI radio, but a 2" spring clamp and some rubber bands substituted nicely.

414255942.jpg

Setup takes about 5 minutes. Since the stand is adjustable I can stand or sit comfortably.

414255940.jpg

It might not be everyone's cup of tea, but for me it's better than carrying around all that weight and risk having my knuckles drag the ground.

414255941.jpg

Jake

Interesting set up

Cool idea. Are you left handed or is the controller only made to be operated by the left hand?

Cool idea. Are you left handed or is the controller only made to be operated by the left hand?
Actually I'm a righty. The reason for the stick on the left is because the right hand controls all flight parameters and the left hand is used on the base of the FT for camera control. With the stick on the right side my left arm blocks most of the display, so I found this easier to use.
The support arm from Fluidity Tech is made to mount either side, but the weight of the iPad and my adapted mount was precarious, which was why went with a separate stand.

Reactions: BigAl07
Madness it needs the DJI controller as well. And I thought it was a cool product.....