DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Calibration Dance Fail + Sensor Fail = Divorce!

Skyfall-0D2

Reactions
Hello Angels,
I am an experienced pilot (ret) & Karma pilot. I decided to buy a DJI for 2 reasons:
1/. So I know that it will work every time I switch it on.
2/. So I don't need a donkey to carry it up a hill for me!

I have had the Mavic 2 Pro for 2 weeks, but spent 2 days in various locations trying to calibrate the sensors & compass.
• When I try to calibrate the sensors, on step 2, it doesn't go any further and hangs. Ive waited as long as 30 minutes.
• When doing the GPS sideways dance, it always fails.

• There's no restricted airspace
• The software is up to date in the controller and UAV
• The locations I've tried have been 6 & 7.2 miles from the nearest electrical station, sub-station or mast. Even the nearest village has been more than 5 miles away (I live in the Scottish Highlands).
• The KPI has been 1 & 2 respectively

So in the interest of my marriage, I need your assistance, since if I'm not out the house more, there's going to be a divorce and those are very expensive! I could even loose my drone‼‼

Many thanks for your time ?

Last edited:
Trying to figure out why a two week old MP2 would need what you describe. Did you get some form of message that says to do all this?
The “sensors” are being done out in the field?

Lovely part of the World, outside of midge season!

Is it the compass calibration you’re having issues with?

I believe there was a change in the manual over what position to hold the AC when rotating on it’s access - it was different to what the image showed on the remote controller.

Reactions: Skyfall-0D2
thought sensor calibration could only be done on a pc