DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Camera settings?

al.pereira

Reactions
I have now owned my mavic pro 2 for a week and doing my first scenery flight today in a beautiful place called tobermory Ontario , Canada

I am an absolute rookie and have basic knowledge with photography.

I would like the best camera settings and when I search I come across many however don’t have a clue which one to choose.

Any suggestions of a possible link which I could follow and learn along with step by step instructions .

I am not a photographer however just a dude looking to have fun today .

Thank you

Reactions: BIGDAVE and Bobvt
If you don't really want to learn the mechanics of photography, just leave it all on full AUTO and the settings will try to adjust to your environment and change when you turn the craft.

However, getting the "the best camera settings" and not wanting to know the why (just having fun) aren't compatible. Each time you fly, the conditions can be different / requiring different settings, and you have to know the why to know that (if you really want to do that).

"Any suggestions of a possible link which I could follow and learn along with step by step instructions ."

Basic photography. The topics to google are are:
  • The exposure triangle (shutter, aperture, ISO)
  • Using a histogram to help control / monitor exposure
  • White balance
  • Video recording / color mode, advantages
  • The Mavic owners manual for
    • Changing exposure / recording settings
    • How to focus (manual, auto, continuous)
More advanced topics are:
  • How to post process RAW files (DNG still images), unless you just want to accept the JPGs
  • How to process Video footage
  • How / why to set the FPS (low FPS vs. higher speed)
Flying modes for photographers
  • Tripod mode (Mavic owners manual)
  • Cinematic mode (Mavic owners manual)