DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Can a Mavic Pro still get the job done? (real estate)

JoshC

Reactions
I'm an an experienced photographer who's looking to get into drone photography and videography, mainly for real estate and weddings (where I already have clients). I bought a Mavic Mini around Christmas in order to teach myself how to fly and learn some of the moves.

I feel like I'm ready now to start some basic professional work for real estate, and looking for the cheapest drone I can use to get the job done for 6-12 months, to make a bit of money before investing in a more serious drone (e.g. MP2 or 3).

One option is to sell my mavic mini + kit and buy the Mavic Air 2.

I've also got a friend who's offering to swap his Mavic Pro + batteries for my Mavic mini + kit. I'm wondering if this would still be a good option and can produce good enough footage for real estate work?

My main considerations are reliability, ability to withstand wind, and video + photo quality. Automated flying moves are not important as I don't wish to use them.

If I inspect this drone for a swap are there any tell tale signs that can indicate mechanical issues?

Thanks for any input

its all down to condition and how the batteries are doing, have a good look for any signs of damage to the airframe scuffs or cracks could be indicative of hard landings or misuse
just as an aside the MPP which is the same airframe as the MP1, but with small upgrades to the ESCs and props, which make it fly slightly quieter and a small increase in flight time
it is still available, and if Automated flight modes are not on your wish list, then a new flymore package would be a very good drone for what you have in mind,and there are some good deals about now

I would go with a Mavic platform, either variant.
More robust, handles the winds way better than the Mini.