DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Can I fly the Mavic Mini where you have no cell service?

mraroid

Reactions
Hi...

I do not understand the WiFi that is used from the MM controller to the drone and back. Can I fly the drone in a wilderness area with no cell phone service?

I do not understand if the controller uses a cell tower to talk to the drone or not. Perhaps the controller sends out it's own signal and talks to the drone that way?

Can someone fill me in? I am very new to all of this. I am in the US.

Thanks so much.

mraroid

Yes you can fly with no data services, presently. It's only used for the maps, and maybe logging.

Keep in mind, with FAA's new rules slated to take effect in 2024 with remote ID, you may not be able to fly without cell phone service. But this hasn't been finalized yet and is all under speculation.

Reactions: Flying high 68
You only need internet to log on the app to your DJI account and to activate your quad. Once you've done that, internet is optional and often advisable to turn off all radios on your phone to minimize radio interference between RC and AC, as well as dedicate more phone resources to the app. The only main reason you might want internet on the phone is to maintain the map, but even that can be cached.

Wi-Fi is only a digital radio protocol. It does not have to carry internet any more than an Ethernet cable or Bluetooth has to carry internet. The WiFi radio is just a means for the RC to communicate with the AC. As a matter of fact, you don't even have to have your phone connected to the RC to fly the Mini. Of course there's obvious disadvantages in not doing so, like not being able to view in real time what your camera sees. For safety sake the firmware will limit your altitude and distance if you launch without the app connected.

P.s. Cell data and Wi-Fi are two separate radio spectrums and protocols, though both ae common means to obtain internet.