DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Can't afford Photoshop- eh? Maybe try this...

vindibona1

Reactions
Democratic Peoples Republic of Crook County
In another thread one of the forum members lamented that one day he might get Lightroom when he could afford it. That got me thinking... I've been using Photoshop for at least 20 years but have kind have been PO'd when I the latter day versions would choke my older laptops but my tried and true version CS3 would run like a top and "if I could think it I could do it". And I could not activate CS3 on my newer desktop. An so I've been forced into the Adobe software rental scheme, not even really liking the current version of Photoshop.

And with today's earlier thread it sent me to the interwebz to see if there was a decent Photoshop substitute. And I think there might be. I stumbled across "Affinity Photo" and downloaded the trial and messed with it a bit. Ya know, they had to make it enough different from Photoshop to avoid patent infringement, but I think there is something there for those who occasionally need good photo retouching software and don't want to be assimilated by the Borg...errr... Adobe. How much to PURCHASE the software? $50 USD. A lot of the protocols are similar to Photoshop and a lot are a bit different... some better I might say. Definitely worth looking at their trial if you've been thinking about Photoshop but averse to getting your pocket picked every month. Finding the free trial is a bit challenging. I guess they just want you to buy the software. Kind of interesting software. It seems powerful enough to substitute for Photoshop.So here's a link to the trial if you're interested. Affinity Photo Free Trial Link

With you on the "I hate Adobes rental schemes". Unfortunately its hard to beat Lightroom.

Reactions: tlswift58