DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Cell phone vs Tablet. What do you use?

Redfist

Reactions
I'm still fairly new to my Mavik Air and find that using my cell phone with my RC is difficult, especially in daylight. The controls on the screen are too small and the whole thing is too dim. Using a Tablet seems to be the next logical choice, but I'm curious what the more experienced pilots do. Thoughts?

I have two different solutions. First my IPhone 7+ with 5.5 inch screen and a DJI sunshade over this or solution two is the goggles RE.

Reactions: Reeguy
Most of the time, I use a Lenovo 10 inch Tablet with Litchi for the control. DJI4 is installed, but rarely used.

I use a Crystalsky now, best brightness but expensive and heavy. I normally use a Samsung S8 perfect for quick flights, Samsung Tab A 8.0" ,nice large screen with an around the neck holder.(keeps it closer to the eyes and independent of the controller good for phones too)

Have a Samsung S8 which is brilliant to fly with, It's amoled screen is vivid & really bright and maxing out on over 1000 nits.
Also use a Samsung Tab S4 which is really nice with it's large 10,5 inch amoled screen which in a sense compensate for it's lesser brightness of 600 nits.

Both are really good & haven't yet felt a need to use a sun shade.

I have used an iPad 3 but don’t suggest using it as it heats up too quickly. Not enough computing powers maybe.

I have a Samsung Tab 3 Large is good but I guess I could have gone smaller and a little litter.

I'm still fairly new to my Mavik Air and find that using my cell phone with my RC is difficult, especially in daylight. The controls on the screen are too small and the whole thing is too dim. Using a Tablet seems to be the next logical choice, but I'm curious what the more experienced pilots do. Thoughts?
Hi.