DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Cinematic Shots: drills, how do YOU practice?

Akoztha

Reactions
Hello everyone! New pilot here, amazed by having an Eye in the Sky.
Was wondering what you guys do to practice control, steadiness, etc....
Thanks in advance.

Well from your avatar as far as steadiness I'd say burn one.
But might slow ya up so watch out for tree's . Thumbswayup
JK ;)

Reactions: Akoztha
You got the answer in your post,practice,practice, and then maybe a bit more practice.
Many of my flights are in the same area, call it a control if you like.

I usually have an objective for each flight, often based on the results of previous flights, I will try out new settings, new reveal shots, orbits, sweeping curves, sideways flying, tracking running dogs etc.
Then we have Litchi and missions.

Then there is a whole new learning curve with post production editing.
I have been flying DJI stuff for 4 years and still learning, and hopefully improving.
Good luck, hope you get as much pleasure as me.

Like Jay, I pick a POI and then just fly all around it from every possible angle. I picked something to video that was the same type of object (fire lookout tower), but they are in different locations with different terrain, different obstacles around it, different lighting, etc... I learn something from every one I do. The last one I did, I flew in high wind to see if I could keep it steady. I do most all of my flying by stick rather than letting software do it, but on occasion I will use course lock or home lock if I am trying to get a good smooth flyby shot. Doing that I can just focus on the rotation rather than transitioning from forward flight, to side shifting to flying backwards.

Hello everyone! New pilot here, amazed by having an Eye in the Sky.
Was wondering what you guys do to practice control, steadiness, etc....
Thanks in advance.
Gotta be from California...and yes I'm jealous