DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Close call

Thanev

Reactions
While out flying this morning I flew backwards into a powerline over a deserted roadway.I have a great feeling about Master Airscrew props after this incident.
The Mavic Pro2 rocked violently on impact (camera view) and I knew right away I had struck a powerline.Rather than utilize RTH which may have further damaged the props(Mavic would have climbed quickly to RTH height perhaps leading to further damage to the props),I chose to fly slowly back to the homepoint.I DID notice a slight vibration in the camera view,and the sound of the Mavic had changed.Upon landing, I changed-out the damaged props,inspected for other damage and continued on with my flights.
This has also highlighted the following for me:
ALWAYS check you area of flight and be cognizant of hazards
ALWAYS have an emergency plan in place
Needless to say,I am also highly appreciative of the stability of the Mavic Pro2 unders such adverse conditions.
20200823_145410.jpg

While out flying this morning I flew backwards into a powerline over a deserted roadway.I have a great feeling about Master Airscrew props after this incident.
The Mavic Pro2 rocked violently on impact (camera view) and I knew right away I had struck a powerline.Rather than utilize RTH which may have further damaged the props(Mavic would have climbed quickly to RTH height perhaps leading to further damage to the props),I chose to fly slowly back to the homepoint.I DID notice a slight vibration in the camera view,and the sound of the Mavic had changed.Upon landing, I changed-out the damaged props,inspected for other damage and continued on with my flights.
This has also highlighted the following for me:
ALWAYS check you area of flight and be cognizant of hazards
ALWAYS have an emergency plan in place
Needless to say,I am also highly appreciative of the stability of the Mavic Pro2 unders such adverse conditions.