DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

cold weather flying

welcome to the forum, at the top of the screen you will see a magnifying glass symbol click on that and then type in cold weather flying and threads pertaining to that subject will be available

Hello from Wilmington Il. I hope i am posting correctly. I am new to drones and forums. My wife bought me a mavic mini and have some basic questions, The one i like to deal with today is it ok to fly in cold weather?
Welcome to the forum! I live in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado at 8200ft and fly in the cold weather all the time. I just flew yesterday because it was one of the few days where we didn't have any wind. The temps were 21F and I've flown at lower temps, in the teens. I've even flown in light snow, but don't do it on a regular basis, and never go very far. I haven't had any issues other than you get less flight time due to the cold. I can get about a 12-14 minute flight from a fully charged battery. Happy and safe flying!

Attachments

• DJI_0089.JPG
    DJI_0089.JPG
    6.4 MB · Views: 48
Welcome to the forum.
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching. Thumbswayup

Welcome to Mavic Pilots! :) Enjoy the forum!Thumbswayup

Welcome! Officially, the manual says not to use the batteries below freezing (0C or 32F). I've flown in colder weather. If you can keep batteries warm until flight starts, do so. Be aware that battery life may be shorter than expected.

Don't fly in fog at near-freezing temperatures. That risks ice buildup on the props, which can quickly reduce their performance and cause a crash.