DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Compass Error?

Dejongdude38

Reactions
Good evening, community. I am a new pilot of a Mavic Pro Platinum. I keep encountering the issue of compass errors because of magnetic interference. It keeps going from having the error to GPS mode over and over again. I am afraid to fly. Please give tips or help me:)

Is your Mavic near anything metallic? Did you attach anything metallic to it? Did you try calibrating the compass?

Good evening, community. I am a new pilot of a Mavic Pro Platinum. I keep encountering the issue of compass errors because of magnetic interference. It keeps going from having the error to GPS mode over and over again. I am afraid to fly. Please give tips or help me:)

Congratulations on getting your unit. Many of us are still waiting. Would you mind stating when you ordered it and when it arrived? As to the situation your described, I can tell you that I have been given that error when launching my P3S from on top of concrete, probably because of all the metal in the foundation. This happened to me at home over my driveway and also in town at the edge of a shopping center parking area. In fact, I went into atti mode when I launched, had to land quickly as a breeze was moving the unit close to power poles. I moved over about 25 feet to a gravel road and had no issues then. Perhaps this is your problem, too. Let me know if this solves it.

Reactions: JohnnieWalker
Just move the drone from another spot and see if it cleared the error.

^^ This ^^^. As a rule, whenever I get a new quad I take it to a nice, big field to make sure everything is A-OK. Start low and slow, and then ramp it up and out. That way if something happens, it's not over a lake or someone's house. Saved my butt with a cool little Bugs quad that had a major compass issue.

Reactions: locoman