DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Concerned about android phone battery life

MattH

Reactions
I am mostly sold on the idea of getting a mavic, but before I do, I'd like to hear from some of you who use android phones for display. I've been flying multirotors for a couple years, but they've all been homemade models. I don't really have time to source, build, troubleshoot, repair like I used to, so I'm looking for something that just works. My major hang up on DJI in general is the lack of a dedicated screen for viewing and I've read some people having issues on android with force closes during flights.

I have a Moto X Pure. I have downloaded and installed the DJI GO 4 app just to test it out and I noticed right away it was using a significant percentage of my battery without even really using it. I know there are things I can do to limit the app's battery usage while in standby, and that's fine. But how much juice will it use up with the screen on full brightness and connected to the controller?

Say I get home after work and my battery is down to 60% just from normal usage, can I even get a full battery worth of flight time on the remaining 40%? 2 batteries? I just want to hear what others experiences are with this and how they manage it. I know I'm probably nit picking and I can just charge my phone if I know I'm going to fly or get a battery pack to keep with me, but I like being able to go all day on my phone without charging.

I also thought I read somewhere that android phones will actually draw a charge from the mavic remote, can someone confirm? I realize that probably just means the phone will die less during the flight and not actually charge as you will be using more mAH than the remote is providing.