DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Considering MM for moto touring

Rog42

Reactions
G'day friendly fliers,

I've been using DJI's for moto touring/vlogging since the Spark in 2017. The Spark fit in my jacket pocket and the remote in a tank bag. Super easy to stop, fly, shoot, land, and travel almost without removing gloves

Alas I lost the Spark in a wakeboard towing, shooting, reverse incident. So naturally I upgraded to the Pro 1. Great drone, especially for battery life, video quality, speed and noise. Still portable but not as easy on the road as the Spark.

So when the Air came on the market naturally I snapped it up. Alas I fly the Pro much more than the Air. Having to calibrate the compass is a real b*tch every time I fly, and for the size, the inconvenience factor is worse than the Pro. Also, I just can't get distance on the Air compared to Ocusync.

Now the Mini looks to have many of the right attributes. Size, weight, legality, battery life (!!!) Missing some, but not critical (video quality, ocusync)

My questions are:
* Do people have to calibrate the compass regularly as on the Air?
* How good/bad is the range? Compared to the Spark, Air, Pro?
* Do you reckon I could launch, fly, shoot, and land on a motorbike without dismounting, doffing gloves helmet etc?
* On a scale of 1 - My favourite drone ever!!! Where does the Mini rate?

Thanks for your opinions [emoji41]

Rxlii

as the MM is so new many of us me included ,have not had much chance to get any meaningful flight time in mainly weather conditions at the moment
i can say that you would probably have to remove your gloves to get the MM airborne and your bike might affect the compass if you were still sitting on it
it is very portable, has a good flight time for its size, and for what it is a reasonable video capability