DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Constructive feedback on clip (beginner pilot & editor)

T.O.M.

Reactions
Site
youtube.com
These images were made with the DJI Mini 2 in Den Bosch, a city in the Netherlands. The video is intended for general entertainment and for me personal to learn how to edit. The subject in the video is the citadel and the immediate surroundings.

I'd love to hear what appeals to you or where I dropped the ball concerning the images, color grading, and editing in general. I'm just a novice with Davinci Resolve so I'm still struggling with rendering and all the project settings.

If anyone knows a possible cause for the glitch in the tree line at about 12 seconds I'd love to hear it too. Thanks in advance!

Tom

TOM, I also use Davinci, but I'm not a video editing expert. I like your video a lot. The colors are very nice. I'm partial to strong, rich colors. As far as the tree, it looked like a flare from the sun rather than a glitch. My wife and her sister took a river cruise through the Netherlands and loved it. Keep up the good work.

Reactions: T.O.M.
For me it starts out way too dark. I would remove dark clips as unacceptable and too difficult to correct. For me I like to see a story which follow a plan or path of what you want to show so there is some mental connection between scenes as they flow along your planned story path. For that a wide angle distant shot of the area might help for those who don't know the area. What is the importance of the Cittadel?
As for editing I use ShotCut. I think getting the right shots for a smooth flowing video story is more important than trying to fine tune color corrections.
The drawbridge brings back memories of my bicycle trip to Netherlands many years ago.