DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

CONTROL PROBLEMS

gazweld

Reactions
Hi Everyone.
I am a newbie to this so be easy. lol
I have purchased a mavic mini and twice I have had to use the return to home facility
because I could not get it to come back to me. the back control was sending it sideways for
some reason and it was getting further away. At the time I was 170 metres away and 18m High
Any ideas please??

The drone's controls are relative to the drone and the way it's facing.
Keep it close where you can see it and get more practice.
Hya thanks for your reply
I could clearly see it. just thought that in an open field it should go
170m away with out it not wanting to return to me. Was wondering if it was in
need of a repair or is this normal.
in clear conditions with good line of sight how far would I expect the drone
to travel away from me??

Assuming you were aware of the drone's orientation when you experienced the issue, I would suggest you first check if the drone is responding to your inputs correctly. Since you have access to a clear field, with the drone facing forward, hover at around 5 m altitude about 5 m in front of you (this way you can clearly see the orientation). Then one at a time, give the command to ascend, descend, fly forward, fly backward, fly left then fly right. Next yaw left (doing an 360), then yaw right (doing a 360 again). If it doesn't respond as it should, try doing an rc calibration, if it still doesn't respond as it should then you may need to contact dji. Note that when doing an rc calibration, the drone should be turned off.

Reactions: THE CYBORG