DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Converting from Premiere Pro to DaVinci resolve

Greekislandlover

Reactions
I know there is a lot of love in this forum for Resolve. I am a Premiere Pro user, and have tried Resolve a couple of times but got nowhere. At the moment I have a project in the pipeline and am in the research phase and haven't started filming. So I figured it is a good time to give Resolve a serious go, and am recreating part of my last project that was edited with PP. The reason I'd like to switch is cost! I don't really use PP enough to justify the cost. As someone who has publicly stated I don't share the love for resolve, I thought it might be an idea to report how I get on with it!

My projects are local history on a mountain bike short films. Following disused railways, forgotten roads etc. Some action cam mounted on a gimbal, some drone footage, some stills and animated maps. Audio is commentary from the bike, voiceovers and music. So far I've put together a few shots, imported my standard opener and had a go at an animated map. Yes, it's different to Premiere Pro, and there is the interface to negotiate and what they call things. But my impression so far is that I think I'll be OK with it.

Importing, shuffling stuff around, cutting it together is very similar once you have done some tutorials.

OK. things I like / dislike so far.

1. Importing files and making proxies is straightforward enough, but I prefer the PP approach of setting this up in project settings so it automatically does it each time you import something. I'm having to remember to convert stuff as I bring it in. Not a biggie really - just need to get into the habit.