DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Could I have gotten a CE version in error? How do I check?

vindibona1

Reactions
Democratic Peoples Republic of Crook County
As you can see from my noted location I located in the middle of the US. I bought my Mini from Costco, so felt confident that I wasn't buying from a fly-by-night company. Everything works pretty much as it should and handling is pretty impressive. As a brand new pilot I've stayed very conservative in sending my drone out until I got a few skills under my belt. So now I've gotten a little brave...

...HOWEVER, in the last few flights I wanted to send it out a little farther, but in all three cases at just under 1600 feet (450 meters) I lost signal and the auto-RTH kicked in. The first time I attributed it to heavy foliage. This afternoon only one row of trees between me and the Mini which I sent exploring up a creek, 200 feet high or so. At 1500 feet, again RTH kicked in. BTW... In both of these cases I had the Yagi extenders on my controller, but and even still, far short of some of the ranges I've seen samples of. Then tonight, I actually launched from my 2nd floor balcony, across the golf course, only out about 1100 feet before losing signal (did not put the Yagis on for this flight). In this last instance, I did cross over power lines that separated me from the golf course about 65 feet away.

It seems to me that my Mini is losing signal approximately where the CE models are supposed to show limitations and far short of anticipated FCC Mini distances.
Is there a way to check to see if I actually received an FCC model... or got a CE model by mistake?

Last edited:
You can acheck on the back of the remote controller the FCC model is MR1SS5 on the top right of the label

1595043105308.png

Also in the transmission menu, you will see only channels 149,153,157,161,165, which are 5.8ghz frequencies which by themselves is the FCC model