DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Crash - Pilot error or drone issue?

theburninator

Reactions
Hey guys,

I had a fly-away crash last month and DJI is so far failing to take any responsibility at all. I am a new pilot, so maybe there's something I don't understand, but there are 2 major issues I haven't been able to reconcile nor have they been able to answer. Here is the scenario:

I flew the drone straight up, winds were roughly 5mph according to local weather. Upon reaching altitude, I got a wind warning and noticed that the drone was drifting at roughly 1.2 m/s. Not being very experienced yet, I hit the RTH button as I felt I was in over my head and didn't want to risk anything. Upon hitting the button, the drone accelerated to 4.2 to 5.2 m/s in the opposite direction of the home point (which was set correctly before take-off). After the drone continued to move away from me, I hit the control stick to descend thinking that the wind was causing an issue. That brought the drone down to the RTH height, but then the drone stopped and began to descend on its own and nowhere near the home point. I pressed up on the control stick to stop the descent and it would not respond. The drone ended up crashing about 80 ft. high in the top of a tree and was not retrievable.

I opened a ticket with DJI and their response is that the wind caused the flyaway and there was no fault with the drone. I have asked multiple times about why the drone accelerated in the wrong direction upon RTH activation and why it landed without input when there was still plenty of battery left (70%). I have yet to receive an answer for either of these questions and continue to get the response that the wind is responsible for everything.