DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Crash - unstable hovering since

Adrian_M

Reactions
Hi,

I'm new to this - only had my drone a month or so - and crashed it into a wall :(

When i tried to restart it one motor was clearly having an issue. the others powered up then quickly shut down because the fourth did not move. i rotated the prop manually and it was a bit sticky, me manually rotating it seemed to loosen and after this it powered up fine....

The problem is when I flew, it seemed to be unstable and wouldn't hover still. It seems to pull forward when I leave the controls untouched....

Is there a way to reset, recalibrate or inspect what might be wrong? Also, I'm leaving on holiday this Friday, is there a hightened risk it could fall out of the sky if I fly it in this condition?

Any advice much appreciated - thanks

How is it unstable? Twitching and wiggling all over the place? Or just the forwards movement?

You've replaced the props after the crash??

If it was a hard crash then you may have bent the shaft on a motor. This would cause tons of vibration and mess with the IMU.

At the base of the motor bell, there is a small gap between it and the arm. Check each of the motors by spinning them and seeing if this gap remains consistent or closes up and then opens out again. If it doesn't remain consistent whilst you spin the motor then you've damaged a shaft. Check them all. It can be difficult, a feeler gauge may help.

If this isn't the case then you may have damaged something internal.

Personally, I would not fly it. It's damaged and isn't flying correctly. I would say you're chances of it plummeting are high than normal.

Reactions: Adrian_M
How is it unstable? Twitching and wiggling all over the place? Or just the forwards movement?

You've replaced the props after the crash??

If it was a hard crash then you may have bent the shaft on a motor. This would cause tons of vibration and mess with the IMU.