DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Crash - was it wind speed?

diggs

Reactions
I'm new to owning a drone and I had a crash with my drone a couple of weeks back after only a few flights (I was fortunate to be able to recover it with the find my drone functionality, and a little climbing through the snow!). I'm assuming it was wind speed at higher altitude overpowering the drone (from ~35m) but there were also power lines near by, so wondered if they might have played a part? Would anyone be happy to review the logs and verify?

It all happened very quickly, and was a pretty bad feeling knowing it could have easily been well out of recovery. But also it got me starting to research and then to these forums and I feel very fortunate to have recovered the drone after realizing how risky this flight was (and now realizing how little I knew and so many of the basics I wasn't doing).

It really should be mandatory to read these forums for newbies like myself before our first flights if we value our investment!

[Edit] Adding narrative on advice of @Doppler:

Here's what happened (as I remember) - I was at the bottom of a hill with a small stream running through it hoping to get some video of a sunset/mountains. There were large power lines in the area but I thought I would be far enough away to have any issues. Was planning to go straight up, take the video, then come down. (Was just looking for the video/photo!).

I set the drone down and used the take off button. I know now that sats weren't great at take off, but within a few seconds RTH was set and GPS turned green. I went straight up with the drone for what seemed only a very short moment (maybe 10 or 20 seconds).