DJI Mavic, Air and Mini Drones
Friendly, Helpful & Knowledgeable Community
Join Us Now

Crashed my M2P... Can't figure out what happened

Jwatts2344

Reactions
Hello all.

Yesterday I made a few flights and all went well, but one didn't go as expected.

I know I shouldn't be doing stunts that I'm about to show you but I've been flying for 4 years and I've done this many times.

Anyway, I was flying under a draw bridge and for some reason, after coming out the other side of the bridge, the bird took a flight path of it's own.

It just started flying sideways and flew into some trees.

I'm still amazed that it didn't fall into the river.

I tried to research how to DL .dat files but I haven't figured it out yet... maybe someone here can show me how.

Enough typing... here is the video...

Last edited:
I'm sure someone will help soon with the .dat files.
In the time being you may want to share the flight record. That would show compass/GPS error messages.
My guess is the compass got thrown off since you were so close to the bridge.

You can upload the flight record at the following site and share the link:
DJI Flight Log Viewer | Phantom Help

In the time being you may want to share the flight record. That would show compass/GPS error messages.

i agree without looking at the logs i would almost guarantee the metal from that bridge completely freaked out the compass

I'm betting closer to the water you could have pulled this off. How close to the steel were you? my guess is 18" to 24"s

Reactions: Jwatts2344
GPS is likely to be lost if you were flying slowly. The bridge will probably block enough satellites to force the drone to Atti mode. This can also be affected by the precise alignment of the GPS Iin use at that particular moment.

I tried to research how to DL .dat files but I haven't figured it out yet... maybe someone here can show me how.
It's pointless guessing what might have happened.
The recorded flight data will show exactly what really happened.